Summer 2014 Bucket List

Standard

I really want to get the most out of this summer with my kids especially since this may be the last summer I’m able to stay home with them.
I am not super crafty, but I still wanted to throw something fun together for our bucket list with what I already have around the house- no shopping, no planning really in advance. This is what we did.

image

Summer to-do’s are on the wooden clothes line pins. You drop one in the “bucket” as you check it off your list.

Here’s how we did it:

1. Find an old can or tin. This was a formula can. You could also use an oatmeal container or coffee can. If you don’t have those, you could also use cleaned out canned food cans. They’re smaller, so you could have several and each can could have a theme, like outdoor activities, crafts, and indoor ones, etc. My 14 year old wants to do cooking, so we could have one of recipes she wants to try this summer.
Here’s my can. I actually just redid mine from last year. We didn’t get to utilize it so much because I was very pregnant, had a summer baby, and recovered from a 3-peat c-section.

image

Please forgive the messy table. We also made a thing of this project by getting yummy .79¢ fountain drinks from Quick Trip and eating oven baked pizza!

image

I had started keeping my younger daughter’s hair stuff in there.

image

Our old design had a flower with our names.

image

And of course stick figures of the family. See, what’d I tell you, not super crafty and definitely not an artist! And oh yeah, that’s just wrapping paper underneath that needed to be used up. Lol.

So, we took off all the old summer to do’s.

image

Then we took off the old “design” and wrapping paper. We decided on a simple beach theme with construction paper, remember not super crafty. Plus, I was working with a teen who wasn’t too sure about how fun this would be and a baby nearby with a time limit before crankiness sets in. My 3 year old was all in!

image

Supplies. Simple.
Scissors, glue or tape, construction paper, clothes line pins.

image

Working hard…

image

We made a list of summer stuff we wanted to do.

image

Here’s part of our list. We came up with more later plus reused some of our pins from last year. There are tons of ideas on Pinterest too.
Here’s some we are keeping from last year’s bucket list.

image

The play with pets one means to go to a pet store on an adoption day to see all the pets and pet them and play with them. We can’t add any pets to our family, but we still like doing this.
Here’s our simple construction paper beach theme in progress.

image

Yeah, the tape wasn’t looking that great but glue seemed like a lot more work than I had time for. Lol.

image

image

We also did more than this to add as the pins start getting dropped in. There wasn’t enough room for all of our summer to do’s. And that’s it. Not much to it. And done just in time for baby’s crankiness set in!

Leave a comment